1701 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Suite 325 Washington, DC 20006 Voice 202-234-1450 Fax 202-234-2744 gaia@aag.org https://www.aag.org

AAG Councilors

President

Patricia Ehrkamp University of Kentucky

Vice President

William Moseley Macalester College

Past President

Rebecca Lave Indiana University Bloomington

Secretary

Dydia DeLyser California State University, Fullerton

Treasurer

Antoinette WinklerPrins Johns Hopkins University

Mark Barnes Morgan State University

Rebecca Buller University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Michael DeVivo Grand Rapids Community College

> Nathaniel Gabriel Rutgers University

Debarchana Ghosh University of Connecticut

> Heidi Lannon Santa Fe College

Patricia Lopez University of Washington

Alyson Mabie University of Washington

Adriana Martinez Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

> Eric Sarmiento Texas State University

Steven Silvern Salem State University

Patricia Solís Arizona State University

Jeremy Tasch Towson University

Hyejin Yoon University of Wisconsin Milwaukee

Sofía Zaragocin Carvajal University of Illinois Urbana Champaign

Executive Director
Gary Langham

February 21, 2025

Dear Geographers:

We learned on February 18, 2025 that staff at the National Science Foundation's Human Environment and Geographic Sciences (HEGS) Program were terminated as part of cuts that removed more than 10% of NSF's workforce. As of today, we are unsure about the future of HEGS/SBE.

This is a terrible loss for our discipline and the environmental and social sciences more broadly. The NSF HEGS program funds geographic research on a variety of globally significant topics, including climate change and adaptation, economic development, refugee geopolitics, urban health, environmental degradation, and food security. With its Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement (DDRI) program, HEGS has helped launch the careers of numerous geographers.

On behalf of AAG, we express our sincere gratitude and deep appreciation for the invaluable work of generations of NSF HEGS program officers and rotators on behalf of geography and geographers. Our thoughts go out to the HEGS staff, their families, and their colleagues across the NSF and other Federal agencies.

AAG will advocate to restore staff and funding for HEGS and other Geography-related programs, and will continue to champion NSF.

P. Che leens

Rebecca Lave, PhD Past President

2023-2024

Patricia Ehrkamp, PhD

President 2024-2025

Gary Langham, PhD Executive Director